Spider size and stats

Hi everyone.

I am sorry if this has been posted already, but I cannot find anything quite like it.

I just started playing an Ars Magica saga and my magus character would like to bind a spider as his familiar.

What would the size and stats of a spider be?

Just a normal big spider, about the size of a very small apple.

Also, any familiar can be bound with Vim as a form right? I was thinking Creo as the technique since the spider creates webs and traps and since it is a magical creature she can even trace lines of text (and yes, I am calling her Charlotte).

:smiley:

The way I read it, any familiar can be bound with any form. However it just feels better thematically to have it linked to the nature of the animal and the arts of the user (I.e. Intellego for a blood hound for a magi who searches for things). The fact you get bonuses for any enchantments you put into the bond for corrolate to the form and techniqe (cumulative) means that putting Perdo Corpus into a bond limits the effects you can put into the bond (as the effects can only target familiar or magus).

There are very few large spiders in mythic europe at this time. Having researched a spider Bjornear I am aware of a few africa and spanish tarantulas but they're smaller then rats.

A

Insects (and other creepy crawlies such as spiders) are Size -15, or perhaps a bit bigger. Basically, anything under a gram (about 1 fortieth of an ounce) in weight is Size -15.