Tight timelines and long journeys in troupe style play

So I'm new to Ars Magica and having great fun as a player. I'm also a fairly experienced (if rusty) GM though and I'm trying to get my head around a couple of things with a view to stepping up and running some stuff.

In other games, I've been used to having PCs chase all over a big map for an extended sequence of events, with a timeline of NPC activity ticking away as they do so.

I'm puzzled as to how to make this way of doing things work in troupe-style play.

• Gaps in the timeline, possibly years long.
  • Personnel changes
  • Long distances between the party and the covenant location making it hard to keep things connected.
  • As a 'backup' storyguide, I'm likely to be filling in gaps when e.g. main one is busy or whatever.

Can it be done? If so what are the tricks and tips? I guess 'bring companions' is an obvious one.

You know one specialty of Ars is that it is focused around the covenant. So usually you as a PC dont want to go for long trips, or walk around in a DnD style "adventures without roots and meaningful social contacts".

All trose years long skips in the timeline, long trips far away from the covenant, etc should be done by mutual consent among the players and also between the players and the GM/GM/SG.

I think it is important to graps that this style of play can function better if you dont want your players to hook on a certain quest, but rather present them 3 different kind of problems connected to the covenant which are happening at the same time. That is how the players have to prioritize problems and manage resources.