tunnel advice

I am not an engineer of earthworks, so would appreciate constructive criticism (pun intended)

I am thinking of a scenario where an old Covenant once built an emergency escape tunnel to a farm they secretly controlled, perhaps 1~2 miles away, on the other side of a wooded hills. Tunnel made by a young mage with strong Terram, but minimal experience with tunnels.
Tunnel still survives a century later, but in poor shape. Based on the landscape, it was 10~50 feet underground. Presumably no ventilation (nor lights)

What other hazards would one expect in such a tunnel?

2 Likes

Damp, flooded, lair to small vermin, poisonous spiders and snakes. Can’t think of much else, unless we get magical.

But I’m also no expert.

2 Likes

If it's an old tunnel that has never been used or checked, forget about lighting, ventilation and other engineering hazards, make it mythical. Consider magical moles, the root of the local magic tree, earth elementals, faerie dwarves, gnomes and goblins that somehow found their way in.

4 Likes

Go big or go home.

• The tunnel now leads to a network of Regios and other ethereal realms.

• Kids get lost and come out Elsewhere.

• Time travellers wander in and out.

• A nest of Demons lives in part of the system.

• One idea I've seen in fiction & real life is sink holes can develop in a tunnel network, so sometimes people, animals and other things fall in. Maybe something wants to lure and catch people into that.

• Maybe the farm on the other end is now a Castle, and the magi are on the wrong end of someone else's escape route.

1 Like

Um, which old TV show are you thinking of?

Mind you, I have been wanting a cameo of Catweazel....

1 Like

Oh yeah, the Major Road hook (the one about supernatural beings traipsing through all the time) would be perfect for a bunch of these.

1 Like

You have to make the tunnel a regio, where it is a hundred times longer than the original mundane counterpart, otherwise you cannot fit all the ideas.