Vim as default Magic Resistance

Hi everyone and nice to meet you :smiley:
I'm new to the game and I need help with Magic Resistance rules.
The book says: "Hermetic Magi have a base Magic Resistance equal to their score in the Form most applicable to the spell cast. In case of doubt, Vim is a safe default".
Does it mean that Vim score can be used to resist every kind of magic spell, even if the Form most applicable to the spell cast is known? Or it must be used only when the Form most applicable is not sure ("... in case of doubt...")?
For exampe: my Magus is specialized in Vim magic. So he has 25 Vim score and 0 in other forms. An enemy attacks my Magus with an Ignem based spell. I have 0 in Ignem form, so can I use my Vim score of 25 to resist the spell even if I know that it is an Ignem spell?
Really thanks and have a nice day :slight_smile:

Uranus

Nearly every spell and effect in the game has a form, always use that form. Use Vim when the form of the spell that is being resisted is vim or you really can't figure out the appropriate form (in case of doubt).

Some examples of doubt might be, and I say might because a closer look at the text might show me a clear answer - I'm just guessing, use the dowsing supernatural ability to detect a thing held by a magus with their parma up or using the magic of the learned magicians from Hedge Magic Revised to protect a magi against bad luck

Really thanks, everything is clear now :wink:
I have another question: may I use a Rego Vim spell to increase Magic Resistance or create a protection against particular Forms?
Thnak you :smiley:

You could create an alternate magic resistance in previous editions (in fact in first edition rego vim spells were the only way to get magic resistance) but they've never been cumulative with parma magica.