What Else To Do Besides Combat?

Hey guys! I'm new to Ars Magica, have only played D&D and Mutants & Masterminds in terms of RPGs. I'm very unused to the Ars Magica style of storytelling, though. Namely, how do you make Ars stories exciting, intense, and/or rewarding without lots of combat?

In many role playing sessions, the Story Guide (SG) or Dungeon Master if you will, lays out the story to connect one fight to another. So, in a sense, the through line of the story doesn't (and may not need to) exist: the players are happy to hack and slash their way through hordes of monsters until they get to the end guy, whom they kill and reap the big magic item.

Ars Magica (AM) can be played like this (although I suspect most of the forum writers here wouldn't care to play in this type of game). There are some difficulties, as healing and recovery in the Rules as Written (RAW), are more involved than in D&D and can eat up resources (vis) quickly in a low vis campaign.

All of that being said, here is what I suggest. Instead of creating a story that requires your group to kill a bunch of monsters, replace 90% of the monster encounters with puzzles. Not the "two statues by two doors, one always tells the truth, one always lies" puzzle, but, encountering a severely broken rope bridge, a bartender that WON'T just give out information, a lake that needs to be crossed, but no boat is available. As players can spontaneously cast spells to solve these troubles, it allows your group to use their creativity to master the story, rather than their bastard swords.

At its most basic, the idea is to provide modes of conflict that can be resolved without necessarily relying on violence. The power and flexibility of Hermetic magic thus becomes a boon rather than a liability.