What things about the Medieval period are hard to grok?

I've been playing and running Ars Magica for a few years now and the more I read the more I find that a lot of my modern assumptions about the medieval period have been fundamentally wrong.

Here are a few examples:

• The low population (particularly in England)
    The largest city in Medieval England was London, with about 25,000 people in the 1220's, but this was unusually large. This is the size of a very modest modern town like Newport on the Isle of Wight. or you could squeeze them into the stadium of Darlington Arena. But there's only 20-30 settlements with over 1000 people. Aside from these 20-30 larger towns, most are too small to support permanent shops, relying instead on temporary markets or fairs.

• The effect of darkness
    We are accustomed to being able to turn on a light and trivially illuminate a room at night.
    However modern lightbulbs are impressive. The lighting options for medieval people were much much more limited. Most people would have to do with rush lights (cheap candles made from animal fat and reeds) that emit light similar to that of a lit match. Proper wax candles were relatively expensive especially for daily use. Full lanterns with glass did exist at the time but were relatively rare and expensive. Even the largest stone castles would be illuminated primarily by firelight, making the darkness of the night much more of a concern. Magi often have magical solutions, but without such magic, writing or studying during the night is a more complex affair than you might imagine.

• Transient Monarchs:
    We often think of monarchs as being based out of a palace or castle, surrounded by guards and courtiers and dispatching underlings to do things for them, but medieval monarchs were very often on the road performing circuits of the lands they controlled. Living in relatively modest temporary accommodations such as Welsh Llys system.