AM5 Noob, PBP Vet - Looking for PBP Game

Greetings all! While I am not new to PBP gaming in any way, shape, or form, I am a complete noob when it comes to Ars Magica. I once read the 3rd edition book, but I have never played the game. And I really want to.

I am looking for any game that is willing to take on a new player and help teach them the ropes of the system from character creation to mechanics to creating items in the laboratory. I need to learn the ins and outs of the system, and I am more than willing to do whatever it takes to do that. I can take constructive criticism, I'm not above admitting mistakes, and I'm willing to put in whatever hard work is necessary to do this.

If anyone wants to see samples of my PBP gaming writing ability, let me know and I'll give links to existing games.

I would be glad to invite you to Andorra and participate in our new Journeyman/Chapterhouse project (a great start for a new player). But I would ask that you at least obtain the fifth edition core rulebook. Otherwise, if you are a veteran gamer you will catch on quick. But you must learn to unlearn...
:mrgreen:

5th edition is significantly different from 3rd. The rules have been made better (the core book is a marvel, only comparable to Pendragon and the original Vampire book IMO) and streamlined. Now we have a guideline to design spells, something that before was only "gut feeling" for what level a spell needed to be. Magi are more powerful than in 3rd edition, since advancement rules are more consistent in the acquisition of experience.

You can play a 100% good mage with the core book alone. It can be bought online in PDF in several sites. I would still recommend the hardcover version as well. But I am an old fashioned guy that likes paper :mrgreen: