Ars Magica Online

I ws just curious if anyone was unning an Ars Magica campaign online using YIM. I am new to this game and want to play a bit to get the hang of it, and since there is no one in my area...
anyone?

Hello Iwakari. Welcome to the boards :slight_smile:

I might be interested in attempting an online game, but definitely not over Yahoo Messenger! Online games are carried out using various Virtual Tabletop programs. A good short list and comparison can be found here, and a more exhaustive list can be found here. The latter page also includes links to various other resources, like voice-over-IP programs that can be used to enhance the gameplay. Of these, I would personally prefer Skype (simply because I have it), although I've heared Ventrilio or TeamSpeak are far superior for online gaming (taking up less CPU time and bandwidth).

You might also be interested in reading others' thoughts on these matters - Atlas posted a survey not too long ago, and there has been a good discussion over on the ENWorld boards.

Cheers,
Yair

well I am new to the online RPG thing since no one here knows of Ars Magica. So if you decide to do that, please let me know. I would definately join.

I'm not familiar with VT play either, though I'm reading about and considering it lately. I'm afraid just us two isn't enough for a game (and we haven't even compared our time-tables to see if we can arrange a regular session yet...). If you're interested, however, perhaps we can try to recruit more people and try to form a group.

I don't have time to SG a group, just to play as a player.

Yair

Quite interested. Have FG up and running with a ArsMagica charsheet entered in if anyone is interested.

Wouldn't it be better to run this as a play by email saga? Online sessions tend to have problems for what I have heard

Xavi

Given notice , even people in different time zones can usually co-ordinate.
As with tabletop , it is only a problem if people drop out at the last minute.