Back Story: Laguna Sententia

Well, the corebook is very clear on this, and, in 2 editions, it was never errata-ed otherwise.
It says you can't intill Muto Vim effects in an item (with exceptions), and that's all. Moreso, it does this in the Muto Vim guidelines insert, not in a specific "metamagic spells" insert. MuVi spells being the only ones referenced as such, btw.

So, in the MuVi guidelines, you've got a bit of text speaking about the restrictions for investing Muto Vim spells. There's not a shred of a hint about why this would also apply to CrVi, ReVi or PeVi, despite these being also able to affect one's own spells (such as with "Shroud Magic").

You'll also note that Consumate Talisman is coherent with this, in that it lifts these restrictions on Muto Vim spells for effects into your talisman. If the restriciton was supposed to affect other techniques and it was forgotten, it stands to reason the Consumate Talisman would lift them too, and thus mention them.

And yes, tydied up.