Crane stance Vs. The Fox's retreat

Hi!
Im pretty new to Feng shui but not roleplaying games. It's a very fun game with great rules but I have a question about Crane stance and The Fox's retreat.

Since Crane stance is a stance i have assumed that it gives +5 to dodge during a whole sequence. Making it really hard for the evil dudes to hit the player. The Fox's retreat seems different because i just consider it a one time action that doesn't give a bonus for the whole sequence. But then I considered that both of these powers are one time bonuses but I don't know if I'm correct or not.

So please tell me, does Crane stance and the Fox's retreat give their +5 dodge bonus during a whole sequence or just the shot where the person gets attacked in.

Thank you:)

From memory (so I may be wrong) Crane Stance takes a 1 shot action to activate (it's not itself a defensive action), but then afterwards all your Active Dodges for that sequence are +5 to Passive Dodge. Fox's Retreat is only for a single dodge at the same bonus but is a defensive action.

So, if you are only attacked once, Crane Stance will use up 2 shots of initiative (1 to activate, 1 for the Active Dodge) whereas Fox's Retreat only uses 1.
Also, if you are attacked before you get a chance to enact Crane Stance, it won't improve your Active Dodge. Fox's Retreat still would as it is a defensive action.
If you're attacked and Active Dodge multiple times in a sequence, Crane Stance is more economical with your Fu.

Hope that helps.

With Queex on that one.

At least that's what I ruled for Fox's Retreat in a game I'm running right now. Have a character that's using Fox's Retreat, after re-reading it I saw that it said that it could be used as a defensive action which lead me to believe that it was a one-time use power instead of something you "activated" and then it was available for the rest of the sequence/fight.