Damaging Spells for Combat Monkeys

I'm fairly new to the Ars Magica system, having come in for the Fifth Ed playtest and fallen in love with it. I'm quite comfortable creating new spells, having heavily hammered that, largely for fun. I'll post soon my spell for turning a suit of armor into a mass of seething, angry cats, but that's another post.

In my monkeying with the magic system, I noticed a distinct lack of guidelines for spell damage. For my current character, this isn't a big deal as she isn't the head on confrontational type, but I was wondering what sort of guidelines people use. I've mostly worked so far by looking at other spells for examples of damage, but if anyone (including my own ref, of course) has any ideas, I'd be grateful.

HELP! I'M NEW TO THE GAME AND CONFUSED BY ALL THE FREEDOM!

First, an official Welcome to the Game and the Forums!

Now...

Your reaction is understandable. And, to some degree, invited. The editors intentionally leave many aspects of AM "open to interpretation" - of the SG, of the Troupe. The framework is solid, but the details are left open as you prefer, to better fit your RP style.

The base rule of thumb* is that for every magnitude larger you get +5 damage, providing no other special effects are included. This latter is for game balance, and is subject to SG/Troupe preference.

(* Not written anywhere, but most(?) canon examples follow this pattern.)

And regardless of whatever approach you adopt/adapt, the most important rule about spells and damage is - "One spell casting = 1 damage roll/target"! A "group+size" version of Crystal Dart does not equate to ten or a hundred or a thousand d+10 rolls! It would either increase the damage a bit and/or broaden the "area of effect". (Mastering and multi-casting the spell creates multiple spells, and so, yes, does allow multiple rolls!)