Gloom - skip next draw - character died

Someone played a card on my character that says "Skip your next draw phase", then the next player killed my character, then it was my turn. Do I still have to skip my draw phase now that the rule was covered with the death card?

How can I prove this either way with the rules?

I argued that since on the start of my turn the rule was covered it does not apply, but the entire table disagreed with me.

Once the modifier resolves, the effect is in place. Killing the character would not stop it since it was a one time occurrence and not an ongoing effect.