I just picked up Hedge magic !

Okay! So part of what I've learned is that, if the target isn't near the rune spell being cast, then not only does the vitki need an Arcane Connection to the target but that Arcane Connection actually needs to be incorporated into the runes or the object upon which the runes are carved. (I can't find a general statement to this effect in the Vitkir chapter, but it's reflected in the specific Method II example spell, and anyway it's thematically appropriate.)

I think I also understand the result of casting a Method III spell. The runes (on the tree, in our running example) are an Arcane Connection to the vitki and vice versa as usual, but the spell also causes the runes to become an Arcane Connection to the target. Therefore, "by transitivity", the vitki is now an Arcane Connection to the target, and hence can cast Method II rune spells on the target anytime, anywhere. Although the rune-carved tree's existence permits these Method II spells, it is otherwise irrelevant to the mechanics of casting them.

In the description of Method III casting on page 126 of Hedge Magic (Revised), quoted below, I think the part that most confuses me is the part in bold:

It seems that it would be more correct to say "This connection may then be used later to affect the target from a distance, using Method II." The object upon which the runes are inscribed might, coincidentally, be the target too, but not necessarily. Moreover, that example seems to indicate that the Futhark rune to be carved would correspond to the tree (perhaps Y, "yew"), whereas your description indicates (more sensibly) that the Futhark rune to be carved would correspond to the target (E in this case, signifying perhaps "pet"). In other words, I'd imagine the runes to read something like, "Eirik carves upon this tree the runes of my pet."

If i was reading a little like gert, my understanding derives a lot when it comes to Method III.

For me the rune "from method III" is now an arcane connection to the target of the spell method III
BUT the caster still need to place his method II spell near (< 10 paces) because of the arcanic connection the rune (from spell method III) has.

I dont believe in the "transitivity" of the arcanes connection ^^.

And, from a maximizating point of view, to have soldiers being an arcane connection directly to you by this mean is a risk that the combo poem method III + poem method II has to cancel, otherwise a direct method II spell is far better... and the combo has no reason to be except rare cases.
I would houserule it like that, anyway, because it's the only reason i see for the viktir to be such "enemies and dangerous one" for the Order.
Without that, the Order can destroy all the viktir with a single spell, in any battle... (if the "leader" can't be "safe" and recast runes for helping his soldiers who are indeed fighting far away)

Sorry for the threadomancy, but...

...isn't the connection to the runes supposed to be something more than a "mere" Arcane Connection? Page 125 describes it as similar to the spell Opening the Intangible Tunnel - "the runes become part of the vikti, and another wizard touching the runes may affect the vitki at Touch Range. Like the Hermetic spell, this connection goes both ways."

So, is this "increased connectivity" of any use to the vitki, or does only benefit other types of spellcasters who take penalties for using arcane connections? Given that the runes become part of [him], could a vitki inscribe himself and send a "everything within 10 paces" type method II spell through it?

I would say so, yes. The vitki is effectively touching the tree through the runes.

Cool acquisition BTW: one of the coolest books of 5th edition IMO.

Xavi

One Doubt/Idea about the fetch about Gruagachan and similars gedge Traditions:
The fets is discreibed like a magical spirit. It can materialize him, but is usefull for his advises and being the vehicle of information and Vision spells and effects. But... If do somebody try slave, ward off, cature or destroy it? I can see taht like the Aspects of a Daemon can be reformed, but itis of someway related with his gruagach, taking the aspect of a animal realted to the user personality. Then What is mor apropiate for his "Might Score" the Form Vision score? Or five times the personality related trait? The low or the up score?
Thanks for opinions, Mario.

I don't think that the fetch is a magical spirit. In the literature, it is described as an extension of the wizard. In effect, the creature is nothing more than an aspect of the person's spirit. Once the gruagachan is able to manipulate his or her spirit by extending it in fetch form, he or she becomes able to remove the spirit entirely from the body and place it in another object.

Yes, but i speak about the desccription in the rules.

First, the description doesn't state that the fetch has Might, so I don't know why you think it must. A fetch is not an outside spirit, but an aspect of the character's spirit that can detach itself from the character. Second, page 61, Hedge Magic, RE, states, "The fetch is a magical spirit that is an aspect of the character's personality and an extension of his soul."

You can run your game however you want, but I say it has no Might and is merely an extension of the character's spirit, so no need to worry about enslaving the fetch, warding against it, or anyone capturing it for vis.

Or yes... Think about that thing. Of some manner, the fetch is used for track a Vis taken or stolen by a Hermetic Wizard or a covenant inhabitant; or directly one of them. Is a good way to see if can entry in a Covenant's Aegis. The Fetch work similarly to a Spirit Familiar for my.
In other way, the Emotions and others Mentem Spirits are really the emotion, part of the mind of the owner of the Personally trait. For my is sufficent, is a expression of soul and Magic. Without the fetch, the owner send the efect that have a penetration calculed normally in the way normal, but a personal feth have some of more power, based in one of the last things.
That is just a suggestion and doubt, not a munchkin way.

It is not stated in the rules. If you need it, I would consider the Fetch to be an Aspect of the Gruagach: he can create another one without thinking if the first one is destroyed, and he can dispel it at will. So, the fetch is always available. If you need it, the Might of the Fetch can be equal to the Gruagach's Penetration score. That way you have some sort of protection vs the creature entering your sanctum unopposed (a normal aegis would block it) and you can destroy it temporarily, but you cannot get rid of it permanently.

Does that work for you? :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Xavi

I understand that, and it isn't different to my seccond idea. But for the permanent procedent about the merit. That is active, the guagrach can despell it, but primarly is active ever. I suppose that.

Hi there!

Since our asaga is going to be dealing A LOT with the isle of Man, yesterday I was tinkering with a vitki test character. I noticed that Scribe Runes is a required ability (pretty much like Artes liberales is) but that it does seem to have an extremely field of application (hide runes in a rune script). There are no mechanics to determine how long the runes last, so that second (supposed) use of the ability becomes quite a moot point. As written, the Scribe Runes ability seems quite useless: if I was playing a vitki I doubt I would ever rise this ability above the default (obligatory) value. The only "normal" vitki-specific ability that really matters seems to be Rune Magic (a prime candidate for puissant ability).

Scribe runes does not appear in any of the formulas, for the vitki (appart from hiding the rune script) and that seems counterintuitive to me. Shouldn't it be included in rune casting? A master rune carver should make his runes more powerful, wouldn't him?

I am more than willing to be corrected here :stuck_out_tongue: but right now it seems to me that this ability is not what you would expect from a basic tool of vitkir magic :slight_smile: Or maybe this would make the vitki runes too powerful? (I doubt it since it is not an accelerated ability)

Bleh, in the end I don't know if this is a question or a rant :stuck_out_tongue: heheh

Xavi

PS: I think I found a typo in the Alchemists as well: they have mythic alchemy as a virtue, and mythic HERBALISM as an ability. I think that is a typo.

Nope. The Required Virtues and Flaws are required. The Arts and Abilities are optional. A mythic alchemist must have Mythic Alchemy, and may take Mythic Herbalism.

Oh, I see. Good to know for sure :slight_smile: Thx

Xavi