Languages in/around Mythic Europe

Hi. I haven't been here in quite a while after getting exhausted by all the computer trouble I had with the forums ages ago. But I've still been active with ArM5.

I've been working on putting together a collection of the languages in and around Europe in roughly 1200 C.E. I'm really no expert in languages, but I think I've done a decent job. I'm closing in and figured I'd share it. Maybe those who know better can help me fill in things or correct things. I figured this would end up being a useful resource for everyone, and I plan on converting it for the forums here once I'm done. For those who are interested, I've got it on an RPoL page. It will take some effort to convert it to tables here, so I'll just provide the link without it being direct (can't remember if we can post direct links here): rpol.net/display.cgi?gi=59304&ti=1&date=1398051210#5

2 Likes

More extensive than my list http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/thelemur/ars/house_rules/languages.htm - I may have to steal some of your work if we ever go into the outer reaches of the continent.

Do you actually bother with languages that much in play? I tend (at Triamore and the surrounding area) to stick with German and French - any finer distinction is just lost.

It's a pain to play, no doubt, esp i magi start traveling anywhere outside their local county. Language spells become very important, and/or Mentem spells to quickly gain the "cooperation" of a good translator (intentionally or no).

But you have to remember that there was no "France" nor "Germany" at this time, and so a "national language" had not homogenized. Almost every valley, plain and forest had its own dialect, and once you jump across a couple of those even "a single language" becomes very hard to understand.

First of all ... wow. Amazing job!

Second, a few notes about the small area I know something about. These considerations totally ignore existing game material.