Old Variant Parma Rules, Posted By Request

Alternative Magic Resistance Rules for AM5

Here's my first cut at different MR rules for AM5. I think these are ok but I'll probably need another go at it. Please bear with me if something here doesn't quite make sense or work. After all, this is my first try.

If you are happy with the existing rules for MR, this post may not be for you.

If you are not, then these might do the trick. Or not.

Either way, please note that these rules are neither Wrong nor Right, and are simply the result of my failing yet another "Get a Life" saving throw.

There are no actual medieval sources describing the kind of Magic Resistance used in Ars Magica; "real" magic- -including protection- -has a very different feel, usually involving theurgy or "natural" correspondences. However, various medieval sources discuss how the world work, or at least the workings of the world, or at least implicitly make these assumptions. The sources themselves vary, especially in application, but the underpinnings of "the Western tradition" already exist at this time, forming a remarkably consistent and common foundation for apparently antagonistic philosophies and subcultures. Thus, more than one "reasonable" set of Magic Resistance rules can be derived, and such rules systems may differ greatly depending on how Magic Resistance is framed and which sources are emphasized. A remarkable amount of scholarship goes into Ars Magica, more than I know. My own knowledge base is more limited, less diverse and perhaps even not quite as appropriate. I believe, nevertheless, that I have something coherent here.