Summer 1220, Chapter 3c: An Unexpected Collapse

Towards the end of summer, one of the fishermen finds Sanno (the river otter, Maribus' familiar) collapsed on a riverbank. The little beast is brought to the covenant doctor, Chayyim, who sends word to each of the magi, by way of Daniel the messenger:

"The doctor says Sanno is dying but he can't find anything wrong with him. I mean, other than the fact he's dying. Physically he should be fine but he is dying all the same. Chayyim asks whether you might know any magics to help Sanno as he is in terrible pain and probably won't last a week at this rate. I'm to show you to the doctor's house if you can come."

Does anyone respond?

"I'm afraid I've no knowledge of healing magics," admits Tabanus, "but would be happy to lend by services as medicus (or chirurgeon)"

Daniel says, "Healing magics or no, you'll know more about magic animals than Chayyim does. I will show you the way."

When Tabanus examines the otter, he sees that Sanno is in horrible anguish but suffers no visible wounds, his temperature is normal, and all his humours are fine.

"Sanno is dying?" Attravere will not wait to hear anything else, grab his corpus vis and rush to the scene. Is Sanno conscious?

The fat otter is not conscious, but he is thrashing about (Chayyim has secured Sanno's limbs to a cot for his own safety) and muttering nonsensically. Every now and then, Attravere makes out Maribus' birth name within the mumblings.

(If it hasn't been tried yet, I'll try to ceremonially spont and Animal-based version of "Physician's Eye" (spending Fatigue, of course)).

[Stamina -1, Creo 0, Animal 0, Aura ?, Artes Liberales 5, Philosophiae 5, Die ? / 2 = ??]

The spell is successful, but Tabanus' casting total is not sufficient to overcome Sanno's MR.

(D'oh, I always forget the MR... :blush:)

Iapetus is MOST worried. He shall part be careful to put his current work on hold that it might not go wrong, then jog towards the doctor's healing room.