This topic is about Wards. Specifically, ring-type wards. As the title indicates, I'm Not Going There. RAW state, repeatedly, that wards have to penetrate. The authors' intentions in and of themselves are clear. This particular post isn't about the debate on whether wards should have to penetrate or not. Rather it's a few of my questions, and a few ideas I have that can make circular wards more powerful than RAW, while still needing to penetrate.
Let me make sure I understand RAW: If I want to make a 'ward,' that's a specific type of spell. asic R/D/T is Touch, Ring, Circle. If it's general level, it affects creatures with Might of up to the level of the spell, provided the spell penetrates. It's therefore within my best interests to try to have the level of the spell and my casting total to be as equal as possible: Ward vs. demons at level 30, but with penetration of 11 is only effective vs. level 11. Ward against Magical Ignem creatures at level 15, penetration 25, is only effective vs. Magic Ignem Creatures iwth might <=15. Ward vs. faerie aquam at level 20, penetration 18, is effective up to 18.
Is this correct so far?
A few more questions: It appears that a Rego Vim ward against mystical creatures will work against all creatures of that realm, regardless of what Form they are attuned to. Effectively, there are two Forms that can ward against a Mystical creature: Rego Vim, or Rego + whatever form that creature is attuned to. Is this right? My phrasing is a bit obscure, so here's an example using the bestiary from the book).
Circular Ward against Demons (ReVi 21, penetration 21), can ward against Michael (Demon attuned to corpus, Infernal Might 10). The same spell can also ward against Polandrus (Demon attuned to Animal, Infernal Might 20). Correct?
A 'ward against corpus demons' (ReCo 21, penetration 21) could ward against Michael but not Polandrus. Correct?
Does this apply to other realms as well?
Can I just have a generic Ward against Faeries, ReVi 21, penetration 21, and have it work against all faerie types? Would this above spell affect both Mateos (Faerie attuned to Herbam, faerie might 10) and Tarlan (Faerie attuned to Animal, might 20)?
It seems as though if I have a high Vim score, I'm much better off using Vim as the
against demons will work against all sorts of demons of any type, regardless of what Form they are attuned to. Is this a correct interpreation? If it is, does it also apply to Magical and Faerie creatures?
If so, I imagine the logic is that Vim (arguably) isn't as inherently, immediately useful as Corpus or Ignem. One of the perks of specializing in Vim, therefore, is ease of warding.
Are my interpretations correct so far?
Next question: Is it allowable, RAW and paradigm, to benefit from multiple wards of different types? Example: On round 1, I trace a 3-foot-radius circle with chalk as I cast Circular Ward Against Demons, level 20. A minute later, I decide to trace a 2-foot, 8-inch radius circle (without touching the earlier circle) and cast Ward against Faeries of the Mountain, ReTe 20. I have not touched the demon ward, so I don't break it. I am now protected by two wards, so I have a good protection against both demons and Terram faeries. Is this permissible?
On to the great debate.
I do believe that the idea of circle wards are important to the Mythic Paradigm, and should arguably be more powerful than simply destroying a creature with Perdo. However, the writers repeatedly said wards needed to penetrate... it was semi-ambiguous in core and they clarified it in HoH:S. Good enough for me.
I have a couple modest proposals to make Circle wards a bit more powerful than they are, while still needing to penetrate.
Allow double ceremonial casting--one for the ring, one for the spell. Here's what I mean: You can ceremonially cast any non-ritual spell, from Sense the Nature of Vis to Chamber of Spring Breezes to Talons of the Winds, as long as you have Artes Liberales, Philosophae, and time. Wards are no exception. So you can certainly ceremoniously cast 'Circular Ward Against Demons,' just as you would any spell (given the above 3 requirements).
The rules state that you may use a pre-existing ring as your ring, as long as you trace it.
I propose that engraving a ring be allowed to be done cerimoniously as well. You can spend a couple hours engraving a ring in the ground, then fililng it in with molten bronze and allowing it to cool. By so doing, that ring grants your Ceremonial Casting bonus any time it is used as a ward. This stacks with any time you use Ceremonial Casting to actually cast a ward spell.
Example 1: Chris the Careful Criamon is away from his sanctum. He feels that he needs to be ready to ward against demons. He casts 'Circular Ward Against Demons' by using Ceremonial casting, taking a long amount of time to trace the ring and cast the spell. He gets to add his Philosophae and Artes Liberales scores to the casting roll, thereby giving him a bonus to penetration.
Example 2: Chris the Careful Criamon wants to protect his favorite tree house from demons. He spends all day digging a one-inch-deep ring a few paces' radius around the trunk. He then pours a bit of molten lava into the groove and lets it harden and seal in. (What do you want from me, I'm improvising . The ring now adds Chris's Artes Liberales and Philosphae scores whenever any Mage uses that specific ring as a ward.
Example 2a: Chris is being chased by some imps. He makes a mad dash for his tree house and hastily casts 'Circular Ward Against Demons' by tracing his fingertips along the obsidian ring. He adds his Artes Liberales and Philosophae scores once to the roll, since the ring itself was ceremonially engraved. However, he can't add them again for the spell itself, since this particular spell is not being cast Ceremoniously.
Example 2b: Chris wants to spend an entire season in meditation in his treehouse. Taking some snacks, he goes to his tree. He spends an hour, using Ceremonial Casting, to cast Ward Against Demons on the obsidian seal. He adds his Artes Liberales and Philosophae scores Twice: Once for the ring (engraved previously) and once for the spell itself.
Does the above sound reasonable?
I'm also pondering a similar idea with magic items. I don't know exactly how it works, RAW. I can think of 3 options:
- Enchant a ring, so that that particular ring gives its Form/Shape bonus to warding whenever a normal spell is cast. The ring itself has no effects, it's simply attuned to a particular effect. (Sort of like a non-portable talisman?) You probably might have to open the ring for enchantment, but dont' need effects as of yet since you're casting said effects yourself.
- Open a magical engraving tool, piece of chalk, sharpened staff tip, etc. This gives you a shape/form bonus when used to trace a ring for a ward. Again, the actual ward is provided by the caster, not the item.
- Just enchant a magic item and instill a ward effect. Hope that the form & shape, as well as levels you sacrifice to penetration, are enough to be more cost-effective than spellcasting.
Option 3 is the only one that works precisely within RAW.
What are your thoughts? Again, I don't want to rekindle the penetrate/don't penetrate debate, rather to work within RAW to make circle wards slightly more powerful (which in my opinion, they should be).