Wrapping my mind around the game

Hi everyone!

Ars Magica has sat on my book shelf for many years now. Deep down I have always wanted to be involved in a game but the people I regularly game with never seemed to be interested. But that has finally changed and now I have a bunch of people not only interested but gung-ho about starting a game of Ars Magica! :smiley:

So the book has come off the shelf, the dust brushed away and I'm the process of re-reading it and most important, 'groking' it as the kids like the say these days. But man, there is a lot to take in! But thats's okay, I'm an eager student. And that is why I am here. I was hoping to bounce some questions/concerns I've developed while reading through the book (to clarify, core 5th Edition Ars Magica is the book being referenced here). Any and all feedback/help/examples/etc., would be greatly appreciated!

Here is my first wave of questions:

Could you guys extrapolate regio (regiones) for me? Reading through the book I got the basic concept: there are areas in the world that are magical aligned (or divinely/infernally/arcadianly). Places of stone hedge or the pyramids of Giza. I'm cool with that; i've read enough fantasy fiction and real-world conspiracy theory stuff to get that. But then in the back of the book (pg 184 or around there I believe) I get thrown a curve ball. So regiones are like... hyperbolic chambers? You 'disappear' while in them like Narnia? Is it a whole different world in there?

What's up with ritual spells? I'm assuming I'm just being a dolt and missing the page, but do you learn/create them just like a formulaic spells? What purpose do they serve over formulaic spells?